logo

Sonus

Agency for Early Music

News About Sonus Musicians Masterclasses Translation Contact
line
Singers
Instrumentalists
Conductors
Ensembles
Orchestras
Scholars

Ensemble Danguy

picture Ensemble DanguyFormerly known as Ensemble Ysis (after a 15th century treatise crediting the invention of the hurdy gurdy to the goddess Isis; name changed due to current politics...), Ensemble Danguy specializes in the varied repertoire of the hurdy gurdy (known as vielle à roue, symphonie, organistrum, ysis...) in its many historical incarnations. For each historical period and/or programme, Danguy strives to work with the appropriate internationally renowned specialists. Ensemble Danguy is now named for the most famous virtuoso vielliste of the 18th century, known to us only as l'illustre Danguy.

Ensemble Danguy is led by the Canadian-born hurdy gurdy player, Tobie Miller, who is one of the only hurdy gurdy players to come to the instrument through early music. Based in Basel, Switzerland, the group has recently recorded its debut cd of 18th century sonatas and cantatas, "La Belle Vielleuse", which was released on the Ricercar label in May 2017.


Tobie Miller

picture Tobie MillerThe Canadian hurdy gurdy player, recorderist and singer, Tobie Miller, grew up in a family of classical musicians. After studies in Early Music Performance (B.Mus) at McGill University (Montreal, Canada), she moved to Basel (Switzerland) to pursue postgraduate studies at the prestigious Schola Cantorum Basiliensis (Aufbaustudium Diplom with High Distinction, 2008, and M.A. Musical Pedagogy, 2012). Her work in Basel was supported by two grants from the Canada Council for the Arts, and by the J.B.C. Watkins Award. She was the recipient of a further grant from the Canada Council in 2011-2012 for her work on the baroque hurdy gurdy and transcriptions of J.S. Bach's solo cello and violin repertoire for the same instrument.

Currently based in Basel, Tobie continues to perform and record both as a soloist and with numerous ensembles including the Ensemble Baroque de Limoges (recording of Haydn and Mozart concerti, on the Laborie label), Les Musiciens de Saint Julien (recording on Alpha label),Per-Sonat (recordings on the Christophorus label), Le Miroir de Musique (recordings on the Ricercar label), Leones (recordings on the Christophorus and Naxos labels) and her own ensembles, La Rota and Ensemble Danguy.  Ensemble Danguy's debut cd of 18th hurdy gurdy sonatas, “La Belle Vielleuse” was released in 2017 on the Ricercar label, to critical aclaim.

One of the only hurdy gurdy players to come to the instrument through early music, she is recognized as a virtuoso of the baroque hurdy gurdy, and performs in various formations, including in duo with the Austrian hurdy gurdy player, Matthias Loibner, as well as with well- known conductors such as Jordi Savall, Christophe Coin, and Wieland Kuijken. While maintaining a busy performing career, she also teaches regularly at workshops and festivals including the Over the Water Hurdy Gurdy Festival (2005-2010), Les Journées de La Flûte à Bec (2006), Asociaciòn Ibérica de la Zanfona (2010, 2015), Sherborne Early Music Society (2015), and at the Schola Cantorum Basiliensis (2008, 2012). In 2015 she was the invited soloist for the 11th International Zona de la Zanfona festival in Galicia.


Audio samples

Jean-Baptiste Dupuits: Sonata No. 6, Allegro


Jean-Baptiste Dupuits: Sonata No. 6, Caprice


M(onsieur) Ravet: La Marine - Les Ondes



Please also visit Tobie Miller and Ensemble Danguy on our YouTube Channel!

line
SONUS
Direction: Andrea Braun
Tel.: +49 (0)931 71423
e-mail: info@sonus-alte-musik.de

logo

Sonus

Agentur für Alte Musik

Aktuelles Über Sonus Musiker Kurse/Coaching Übersetzung Kontakt
line
Sänger
Instrumentalisten
Dirigenten
Ensembles
Orchester
Wissenschaftler

Ensemble Danguy

picture Ensemble DanguyDas international besetzte, in der Schweiz beheimatete Ensemble Danguy ist spezialisiert auf das vielfältige Repertoire für die Drehleier (auch Vielle à roue, Symphonie, Organistrum oder Ysis genannt) in ihren zahlreichen historischen Erscheinungsformen spezialisiert. Lange Zeit war Ensemble Danguy unter dem Namen Ensemble Ysis bekannt (nach einem Traktat aus dem 15. Jahrhundert, in dem die Erfindung der Drehleier der Göttin Isis zugeschrieben wird), doch schien es angesichts aktueller politischer Entwicklungen geraten, diesen Namen zu ändern, und so heißt die Gruppe nun nach dem berühmtesten Drehleier-Virtuosen des 18. Jahrhunderts, den wir heute allerdings nur als den «illustren Danguy» kennen.

Das Ensemble wird von der in Kanada geborenen Drehleier-Spielerin Tobie Miller geleitet, die eine der wenigen Virtuosinnen ist, die über die Alte Musik zu diesem Instrument kam - und es entsprechend stilsicherer und virtuoser handhabt, als es bei den meisten der Amateur-Musiker der Fall ist, die sich aus der Volksmusik heraus mit der Drehleier befassen.
Beheimatet im schweizerischen Basel hat Ensemble Danguy im Mai 2017 beim Label Ricercar seine erste CD, La Belle Vielleuse, herausgebracht, auf der Sonaten und Kantaten des 18. Jahrhunderts eingespielt sind. 2018 werden die Musiker ihre Bearbeitung von Vivaldis Quattro Stagioni auf CD aufnehmen.


Tobie Miller

Bild Tobie MillerDie kanadische Drehleier-Spielerin, Blockflötistin und Sängerin Tobie Miller wuchs in einer Familie klassischer Musiker auf. Nach einem Studium der Aufführungspraxis Alter Musik (B.Mus) an der McGill University in Montreal zog es sie nach Basel in der Schweiz, wo sie ihre Studien an der renommierten Schola Cantorum Basiliensis fortführte (Aufbaustudium Diplom 2008 mit Prädikatsexamen, M.A. Musikpädagogik 2012). Ihre Arbeit in Basel wurde von Stipendien des Kanadischen Kulturrats und des J.B.C. Watkins Award unterstützt. Darüber hinaus erhielt sie 2011-2012 ein weiteres Stipendium des Kanadischen Kulturrats für ihre Arbeit auf der barocken Drehleier und ihre Transkription der Bach‘schen Solowerke für Cello und Violine für die Drehleier.

Inzwischen ist Tobie Miller dauerhaft in Basel zu Hause, wo sie weiterhin konzertiert und CDs einspielt, solistisch und mit verschiedenen Ensembles, wie dem Ensemble Baroque de Limoges (Einspielung der Concerti von Haydn und Mozart für das Label Laborie), Les Musiciens de Saint Julien (Aufnahmen für Alpha), Per-Sonat (für das Label Christophorus), Le Miroir de Musique (Ricercar), Leones (Christophorus und Naxos), und natürlich mit ihren eigenen Gruppen, La Rota und Ensemble Danguy. Die Debut-CD des Ensemble Danguy, La Belle Vielleuse, mit Sonaten des 18. Jahrhunderts für die Drehleier, erschien 2017 bei Ricercar und wurde von der Kritik mit großem Lob bedacht.

Als eine der ganz wenigen Drehleier-Spielerinnen, die über die Alte Musik zu diesem Instrument kamen, gilt Tobie Miller heute als herausragende Virtuosin auf der barocken Drehleier und konzertiert in diversen Formationen; unter anderem im Duo mit einem weiteren Drehleier-Spieler, aber auch mit bekannten Dirigenten, wie Jordi Savall, Christophe Coin und Wieland Kuijken. Neben ihrer intensiven Konzerttätigkeit unterrichtet sie jedoch auch regelmäßig bei Workshops und Festivals wie dem Over the Water Hurdy Gurdy Festival (2005-2010), Les Journées de La Flûte à Bec (2006), Asociaciòn Ibérica de la Zanfona (2010, 2015), Sherborne Early Music Society (2015) und an der Schola Cantorum Basiliensis (2008, 2012). Im Jahr 2015 war sie außerdem als Solistin zum 11. Internationalen Zona de la Zanfona Festival in Galizien eingeladen.


Hörproben

Jean-Baptiste Dupuits: Sonata No. 6, Allegro


Jean-Baptiste Dupuits: Sonata No. 6, Caprice


M(onsieur) Ravet: La Marine - Les Ondes



Besuchen Sie Tobie Miller und Ensemble Danguy auch auf unserem YouTube-Kanal!

line
Agentur SONUS
Leitung: Andrea Braun
Tel.: +49 (0)931 71423
e-Mail: info@sonus-alte-musik.de